Live data is briefly unavailable — this page shows the latest published copy of this exam's details.
Engineering & TechnicalGAIL Executive Trainee
Gas Authority of India Limited
- Domain
- Engineering & Technical
- Level
- National
- Type
- Govt
- Application closes
- To be announced
Eligibility for your profile
Sign in requiredSign in to check your eligibility for GAIL Executive Trainee
Use your private student profile for a personal verdict and the exact reasons behind it.
This is a preliminary profile match. Confirm every rule in the latest official notification before applying.
Exam snapshot
Overview
Conducting body
Gas Authority of India Limited
What you get
Executive Trainee in various disciplines
Latest content cycle
2026
Cracked GAIL Executive Trainee? Mentor the next batch.
Apply with the exam you cleared — our team verifies every credential against official results before a mentor appears.
Apply to become a mentorWorth preparing alongside
We cannot line GAIL Executive Trainee up against other exams yet
This does not mean GAIL Executive Trainee shares nothing with the exams you are preparing for — only that we have not loaded a chapter-by-chapter syllabus we can compare against, so we will not guess. We compare 0 exams whose official syllabus we have traced to the conducting body, and this one is not among them yet.
Plan with confidence
Complete exam guide
Eligibility, pattern, syllabus, dates and official resources in one structured view.
EligibilityPending verification
Planning reference — verify the current detailed notice
These conditions belong to Advt. GAIL/OPEN/ET/2A/2025 for the GATE-2026 cycle only.
Age range
Not stated
Reference date
Not stated
Nationality
Only Indian nationals are eligible to apply.
Exam patternPending verification
Qualification pathway
Clear each applicable stage in order
Final selection or admission still depends on the published cutoff or merit list and any applicable counselling, document, medical, preference and vacancy rules.
Selection sequence
- 1
GATE-2026 (conducted by the GATE organising institute, not by GAIL)
Required - 2
Separate online application to GAIL
RequiredApplication Closes: 2026-03-18
- 3
Shortlisting on GATE-2026 marks
Required - 4
Group Discussion (or an alternative tool for certain PwBD categories)
Required - 5
Interview
Required - 6
Document verification and medical fitness
Required
Paper and stage details
What each stage contains
GATE-2026 (conducted by the GATE organising institute, not by GAIL)
Computer Based Test conducted under the GATE examinationQuestions
Not stated
Maximum marks
Not stated
Duration
Not stated
Separate online application to GAIL
Online, on GAIL's websiteQuestions
Not stated
Maximum marks
Not stated
Duration
Not stated
Shortlisting on GATE-2026 marks
Questions
Not stated
Maximum marks
Not stated
Duration
Not stated
Group Discussion (or an alternative tool for certain PwBD categories)
Before the Selection CommitteeQuestions
Not stated
Maximum marks
Not stated
Duration
Not stated
Interview
Before the Selection CommitteeQuestions
Not stated
Maximum marks
Not stated
Duration
Not stated
Document verification and medical fitness
Questions
Not stated
Maximum marks
Not stated
Duration
Not stated
SyllabusPending verification
Important datesPending verification
2026 cycle
Latest confirmed cycle has concluded
Application Closes: 2026-03-18
Next examination date has not yet been published in StudyBddy's verified official record. The date above is historical—not an upcoming deadline.
Because selection runs on GATE, the operative deadline for a GAIL ET aspirant is the GATE registration deadline of the relevant year, months before GAIL's own application window opens.
Full published timeline4 completed · 0 awaiting dates⌄
Application Closes
Completed2026-03-18
Age Reckoning Date
Completed2026-03-18
Advertisement Date
Completed2026-02-20
Application Opens
Completed2026-02-20
Job profile & salaryPending verification
| Post | Grade | Vacancies | Pay Scale INR | Starting Basic Pay INR | Training Period |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Executive Trainee (Chemical / Instrumentation / Electrical / Mechanical) | E2 | 70 | 60000-180000 | 60000 | One year training-cum-probation as Executive Trainee in E2 grade |
CutoffsPending verification
These are the minimum qualifying percentages printed in the advertisement, not selection cut-offs. GAIL publishes no GATE-mark cut-off for shortlisting in the advertisement, and no discipline-wise or category-wise cut-off document was verified. GAIL publishes final-result notices for this cycle on its vacancies page.
Previous-year papersPending verification
Books & study sourcesNot loaded
Official & trusted free resourcesPending verification
| Name | Purpose | Url |
|---|---|---|
| GAIL Careers / vacancies page | Live Executive Trainee advertisements, corrigenda, shortlists and final results | Open ↗ |
| Advertisement GAIL/OPEN/ET/2A/2025 dated 20.02.2026 | Governing document for the GATE-2026 cycle: vacancies, eligibility, selection process, dates | Open ↗ |
| Advertisement GAIL/OPEN/ET/2/2025 dated 30.09.2025 | Advance notice issued before GATE-2026 registration, telling aspirants which GATE paper to take | Open ↗ |
| GATE-2026 Frequently Asked Questions (GAIL) | Official clarifications on eligibility, GATE-year validity and how GAIL uses the GATE score | Open ↗ |
How to applyPending verification
- 1Check the GAIL advance notice (published around September) to confirm which GATE paper your discipline maps to, then register for and appear in that GATE paper. Only that year's GATE marks count.
- 2Download the GATE admit card — the GATE registration number printed on it is a prerequisite for the GAIL application.
- 3When GAIL opens its own window (20 February 2026 to 18 March 2026 for the GATE-2026 cycle), apply online only at https://gailonline.com quoting the GATE registration number. There is no application fee.
- 4Apply for one post/discipline only. Applications for more than one discipline are not considered, and no particulars can be changed after submission.
- 5Print the system-generated application form, sign it, and keep it — it must be produced at the Group Discussion and/or Interview.
- 6If shortlisted, carry the original GATE admit card and score card, the printed application, date-of-birth proof, all qualification certificates and marksheets, category certificates in the prescribed Central Government formats, and an NOC if you are already in Government or PSU service.
- 7Watch https://gailonline.com for shortlists and results; GAIL states no separate notification is issued in any other media.
FAQsPending verification
Does GAIL conduct its own written test for Executive Trainee?
No. GAIL's advertisement states it uses GATE marks for this recruitment. For the current cycle only GATE-2026 marks are valid. GAIL itself runs only the Group Discussion and/or Interview.
Can I use my GATE 2025 score?
No. Both the advertisement (clause 8.3) and the official FAQ say only GATE-2026 marks are valid and that GATE 2025 or earlier is not accepted.
Do I apply to GAIL separately, or is the GATE application enough?
You must apply to GAIL separately on https://gailonline.com, quoting your GATE-2026 registration number. An application without a valid GATE-2026 registration number is rejected.
What comes after the GATE shortlisting?
Group Discussion and/or Interview before the Selection Committee. The minimum qualifying marks are 40% in the GD for UR/OBC(NCL)/EWS and 35% for SC/ST/PwBD, and 60% in the Interview for UR/OBC(NCL)/EWS, 55% for SC/ST and 50% for PwBD.
How much does GATE count in the final merit?
GAIL does not publish the weightage between GATE marks, Group Discussion and Interview. StudyBddy does not estimate it.
Is there an application fee?
No. Clause 8.14 states there is no separate fee for applying to GAIL. The GATE examination fee is paid separately to the GATE organising institute.
I graduated in 2024 — can I apply?
No. Only candidates who completed the engineering degree in 2025, or who were in the final year in 2025-26, were eligible for this cycle.
Which PwBD candidates are exempted from the Group Discussion?
PwBD candidates in Categories B, D and E. For them a case study, writing exercise or other tool is used instead, with a minimum of 35%.
Final eligibility and dates are always subject to the latest official notification. Content marked “Pending verification” is not presented as verified advice.