StudyBddy

Live data is briefly unavailable — this page shows the latest published copy of this exam's details.

Defence
NationalGovt2026 cycle

Indian Army JAG Entry

Indian Army

Official website Sign in with your email to track exams
Domain
Defence
Level
National
Type
Govt
Application closes
To be announced

Eligibility for your profile

Sign in required

Sign in to check your eligibility for Indian Army JAG Entry

Use your private student profile for a personal verdict and the exact reasons behind it.

This is a preliminary profile match. Confirm every rule in the latest official notification before applying.

Exam snapshot

Overview

Conducting body

Indian Army

What you get

Judge Advocate General entry for Law Graduates

Latest content cycle

2026

Cracked Indian Army JAG Entry? Mentor the next batch.

Apply with the exam you cleared — our team verifies every credential against official results before a mentor appears.

Apply to become a mentor

Worth preparing alongside

We cannot line Indian Army JAG Entry up against other exams yet

This does not mean Indian Army JAG Entry shares nothing with the exams you are preparing for — only that we have not loaded a chapter-by-chapter syllabus we can compare against, so we will not guess. We compare 0 exams whose official syllabus we have traced to the conducting body, and this one is not among them yet.

Plan with confidence

Complete exam guide

Eligibility, pattern, syllabus, dates and official resources in one structured view.

Eligibility

Nationality

A candidate must either be a citizen of India, or a subject of Nepal, or a person of Indian origin who has migrated from Pakistan, Myanmar, Sri Lanka and the East African countries of Kenya, Uganda, United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia, Malawi, Zaire and Ethiopia and Vietnam with the intention of permanently settling in India. Candidates in the latter two categories need a certificate of eligibility issued by the Government of India; it is not necessary for Gorkha subjects of Nepal.

Exam pattern

Qualification pathway

Clear each applicable stage in order

Final selection or admission still depends on the published cutoff or merit list and any applicable counselling, document, medical, preference and vacancy rules.

Selection sequence

  1. 1

    Application and shortlisting

    Required

    The highlights table records the shortlisting activity as 'SSB(based on CLAT PG score)' and gives the date for shortlisting for SSB as 'Second week of Sep'.

  2. 2

    SSB interview

    Required

    The highlights table records 'Upto Five days SSB in Nov/Dec 2026', with the choice of SSB centre and dates open for two weeks in Sep.

  3. 3

    Medical board

    Required

    The highlights table lists Medical after SSB in the selection process, and refers medical standards to www.joinindianarmy.nic.in.

  4. 4

    Merit list and joining letter

    Required

    The highlights table gives the selection process as 'Application > Shortlisting > SSB > Medical > Merit List > Joining Letter'.

Paper and stage details

What each stage contains

4 records

Application and shortlisting

Online application on joinindianarmy.nic.in, then shortlisting

Questions

Not stated

Maximum marks

Not stated

Duration

Not stated

SSB interview

Services Selection Board

Questions

Not stated

Maximum marks

Not stated

Duration

Not stated

Medical board

Medical examination

Questions

Not stated

Maximum marks

Not stated

Duration

Not stated

Merit list and joining letter

Merit list

Questions

Not stated

Maximum marks

Not stated

Duration

Not stated

Syllabus
Syllabus taxonomy has not been loaded yet.
Important dates

2026 cycle

Next confirmed event

Age Reference Date: 2027-01-01

Upcoming

What happens next

Confirmed upcoming schedule

As published by the authority

Age Reference Date

Upcoming

2027-01-01

Job profile & salary

Notes

Every figure here is transcribed from the HIGHLIGHTS table of the 125th Course notification, which itself says the information is 'for general awareness only' and directs the reader to the course notification for detail.

PostCommissionRank After TrainingMaximum Engagement PeriodOption For ReleaseOption For Permanent Commission
Officer, Judge Advocate General Branch, Indian ArmyShort Service CommissionLieutenant14 YearsFirst - after 05 years, second - after 10 years, third - after 14 yearsAfter 10 Years
Cutoffs
Official cutoff records have not been loaded yet.
Previous-year papers
The Army conducts no written paper for the JAG entry, so there are no past papers to ingest. The written test in this pathway is CLAT PG; its past papers belong to the clat-pg record.
Books & study sources
Book recommendations have not been reviewed yet.
Official & trusted free resources
TitleUrlPublisher
JAG Entry Scheme 125th Course (Apr 2027) notificationOpen ↗Directorate General of Recruiting, IHQ of MoD (Army)
Join Indian Army - officers selection portalOpen ↗Directorate General of Recruiting, IHQ of MoD (Army)
How to apply
Open official application page
  1. 1Register and log in on www.joinindianarmy.nic.in and click 'Officer Entry Apply Online'.
  2. 2On the 'Officers Selection - Eligibility' page, click 'Apply' shown against Short Service Commission JAG Entry Course.
  3. 3Read the instructions on the 'Application Form' page and complete the online application. There is no provision for an offline application.
  4. 4Get the CLAT PG 2026 result verified at the Selection Centre before the SSB; a candidate who does not is not eligible for the SSB.
  5. 5Carry the CLAT PG 2026 score card (for the exam conducted in Dec 2025) and all original certificates to the SSB interview for verification.
FAQs
Is 'Indian Army JAG Entry' a different exam from 'Indian Army JAG Entry Scheme'?

No. They are the same entry under two names, and StudyBddy keeps one full record for it at the slug indian-army-jag-entry-scheme. Open that page.

Does the Army set a written paper for JAG entry?

No. The notification shortlists applicants for the SSB on the CLAT PG score, and the Army's own assessment is the SSB interview followed by a medical board. The selection process printed in the highlights table is 'Application > Shortlisting > SSB > Medical > Merit List > Joining Letter'.

Which CLAT PG counts for the 125th Course?

Only CLAT 2026 PG, conducted in Dec 2025. Note 3 to para 2 says it is the only exam applicable for this course and that no other CLAT PG score shall be accepted.

How many vacancies were notified?

Vacancies 10, combined for men and women for the SSC (JAG) Entry 125 Course.

Who can apply, and by what age?

Unmarried male and female law graduates with a minimum 55% aggregate in the LLB degree, aged 21 to 27 years as on 01 Jan 2027.

Final eligibility and dates are always subject to the latest official notification. Content marked “Pending verification” is not presented as verified advice.