Live data is briefly unavailable — this page shows the latest published copy of this exam's details.
Law & JudiciaryIndian Army JAG Entry Scheme
Indian Army
- Domain
- Law & Judiciary
- Level
- National
- Type
- Govt
- Application closes
- To be announced
Eligibility for your profile
Sign in requiredSign in to check your eligibility for Indian Army JAG Entry Scheme
Use your private student profile for a personal verdict and the exact reasons behind it.
This is a preliminary profile match. Confirm every rule in the latest official notification before applying.
Exam snapshot
Overview
Conducting body
Indian Army
What you get
Judge Advocate General Department entry for Law Graduates
Latest content cycle
2026
Cracked Indian Army JAG Entry Scheme? Mentor the next batch.
Apply with the exam you cleared — our team verifies every credential against official results before a mentor appears.
Apply to become a mentorWorth preparing alongside
We cannot line Indian Army JAG Entry Scheme up against other exams yet
This does not mean Indian Army JAG Entry Scheme shares nothing with the exams you are preparing for — only that we have not loaded a chapter-by-chapter syllabus we can compare against, so we will not guess. We compare 0 exams whose official syllabus we have traced to the conducting body, and this one is not among them yet.
Plan with confidence
Complete exam guide
Eligibility, pattern, syllabus, dates and official resources in one structured view.
EligibilityPending verification
Nationality
A candidate must be either a citizen of India, or a subject of Nepal, or a person of Indian origin who has migrated from Pakistan, Myanmar, Sri Lanka and the East African countries of Kenya, Uganda, United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia, Malawi, Zaire and Ethiopia and Vietnam with the intention of permanently settling in India. Candidates in the second and third categories need a certificate of eligibility issued by the Government of India; this is not required for Gorkha subjects of Nepal.
Exam patternPending verification
Qualification pathway
Clear each applicable stage in order
Final selection or admission still depends on the published cutoff or merit list and any applicable counselling, document, medical, preference and vacancy rules.
Selection sequence
- 1
Online application and shortlisting
RequiredPara 10(a): Integrated HQ of MoD (Army) reserves the right to shortlist applications without assigning any reason, and 'The shortlisting for SSB is based on vacancy to call up ratio.' The highlights table records the shortlisting activity as 'Date for shortlisting for SSB (based on CLAT PG score)'. There is no Army paper to sit at this stage.
Application Opens: 2026-07-17
- 2
Selection of SSB centre and date
RequiredOnce selected, the SSB centre and date will not be changed later; requests for change of SSB interview date or centre will not be entertained or replied to.
- 3
SSB interview
RequiredCandidates are put through a two stage selection procedure; those who clear Stage-I go to Stage-II, and those who fail Stage-I are returned on the same day, i.e. the first day. Call up letters are issued by the respective Selection Centre on the candidate's registered e-mail ID and by SMS only. Before the SSB the candidate must get the CLAT PG 2026 result verified at the Selection Centre.
- 4
Medical examination
RequiredCandidates recommended after Stage-II undergo a medical examination. The validity of the SSB medical examination is 270 days, i.e. SSB to PCTA joining date. A candidate already declared 'Med FIT' at any SSB of any service need not repeat it, provided the date of medical to the date of joining this course, 01 April 2027, is less than 270 days.
- 5
Merit list and joining letter
RequiredPara 13: mere qualifying at the SSB interview does not confirm final selection; the merit list is prepared on the basis of the marks obtained by the candidate at the SSB interview. Ties are broken first by age (the older candidate ranked higher) and then by the higher percentage of marks in the qualifying examination. Higher educational qualifications and previous performances have no role.
Paper and stage details
What each stage contains
Online application and shortlisting
Online application on joinindianarmy.nic.in, followed by shortlisting by Integrated HQ of MoD (Army)Questions
Not stated
Maximum marks
Not stated
Duration
Not stated
Selection of SSB centre and date
Candidate logs in to the website and picks an SSB centre and date on a first come first serve basisQuestions
Not stated
Maximum marks
Not stated
Duration
Not stated
SSB interview
Five-day, two-stage Services Selection Board interviewQuestions
Not stated
Maximum marks
Not stated
Duration
Not stated
Medical examination
Special/Appeal medical board after Stage-II recommendationQuestions
Not stated
Maximum marks
Not stated
Duration
Not stated
Merit list and joining letter
Merit list, then joining letter for pre-commission trainingQuestions
Not stated
Maximum marks
Not stated
Duration
Not stated
SyllabusPending verification
Important datesPending verification
2026 cycle
Next confirmed event
Course Commencement: 2027-04-01
What happens next
Confirmed upcoming schedule
Course Commencement
Upcoming2027-04-01
Full published timeline1 completed · 0 awaiting dates⌄
Application Opens
Completed2026-07-17
Job profile & salaryPending verification
| Post | Employer | Rank On Commissioning | Pay Level | Pay Range | Military Service Pay |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Officer, Judge Advocate General Branch, Indian Army (Short Service Commission) | Indian Army, Ministry of Defence, Government of India | Lieutenant | Level 10 | Rs 56,100 - 1,77,500 for Lieutenant (Level 10). The notification's pay table also prints Captain Level 10 B Rs 61,300 - 1,93,900; Major Level 11 Rs 69,400 - 2,07,200; Lieutenant Colonel Level 12A Rs 1,21,200 - 2,12,400; Colonel Level 13 Rs 1,30,600 - 2,15,900; Brigadier Level 13A Rs 1,39,600 - 2,17,600; Major General Level 14 Rs 1,44,200 - 2,18,200. | Rs 15,500 per month fixed, for officers from the rank of Lieutenant to Brigadier |
CutoffsNot loaded
Previous-year papersPending verification
Books & study sourcesNot loaded
Official & trusted free resourcesPending verification
How to applyPending verification
- 1Applications are accepted online only, on www.joinindianarmy.nic.in. There is no provision for an offline application to be accepted by the Directorate General of Recruiting.
- 2Click 'Officer Entry Appln/Login' and then 'Registration' (registration is not required if already registered on the site). Fill the online registration form after reading the instructions carefully.
- 3After registering, click 'Apply Online' under the Dashboard. A page 'Officers Selection - Eligibility' opens. Click 'Apply' against Short Service Commission JAG Entry Course.
- 4Fill the application form segment by segment - personal information, communication details, education details and details of previous SSB - clicking 'Save & Continue' before moving to the next segment.
- 5Check and edit entries on the 'Summary of your information' page, then click 'Submit'. Candidates must click 'Submit' each time they reopen the application to edit any detail.
- 6Take two printouts of the application carrying the Roll Number, 30 minutes after the final closure of the online application on the last day. One signed copy with a self-attested photograph is carried to the Selection Centre; the second is retained by the candidate. No hard copy is sent to Directorate General Recruiting.
FAQsPending verification
Is there an Indian Army written exam for JAG entry?
No. The Army sets no written paper for the JAG Entry Scheme. Applications are shortlisted for the SSB on the CLAT PG score, and the merit list is prepared on SSB interview marks alone.
Which CLAT PG score is accepted?
Only the one named in the notification for that course. For the 125th Course the notification states that CLAT 2026 PG, conducted in Dec 2025, is the only exam applicable and that no other CLAT PG score shall be accepted. Read the notification for your own course before assuming an older score will do.
What happens if I cannot get my CLAT PG result verified at the Selection Centre?
Note 2 to Para 2 is explicit: a candidate unwilling or unable to get the CLAT PG 2026 result verified will not be eligible for the SSB, the candidature will be cancelled and no representation will be accepted.
How many vacancies are there?
The 125th Course notification prints 10 combined vacancies for men and women. The Army notes that combined vacancies are published based on operational and administrative needs, and that shortlisting, selection and merit are driven purely by notified vacancies and the applications received against that course notification.
Can I apply if I am married?
No. The entry is open to unmarried male and unmarried female law graduates, and a candidate who marries after the date of application - even after being recommended at the SSB and found medically fit - is not eligible for training.
Where is the training and what do I get during it?
49 weeks at the Officers Training Academy, Chennai, with a stipend of Rs 56,100 per month. Those who complete it are awarded a Post Graduate Diploma in Defence Management and Strategic Studies by the University of Madras and are commissioned as Lieutenant.
Final eligibility and dates are always subject to the latest official notification. Content marked “Pending verification” is not presented as verified advice.