Live data is briefly unavailable — this page shows the latest published copy of this exam's details.
Engineering & TechnicalIndian Railways Apprentice (Act)
Railway Recruitment Cells (RRCs)
- Domain
- Engineering & Technical
- Level
- National
- Type
- Govt
- Application closes
- To be announced
Eligibility for your profile
Sign in requiredSign in to check your eligibility for Indian Railways Apprentice (Act)
Use your private student profile for a personal verdict and the exact reasons behind it.
This is a preliminary profile match. Confirm every rule in the latest official notification before applying.
Exam snapshot
Overview
Conducting body
Railway Recruitment Cells (RRCs)
What you get
Act Apprentice in various trades at Railway workshops
Latest content cycle
2026
Cracked Indian Railways Apprentice (Act)? Mentor the next batch.
Apply with the exam you cleared — our team verifies every credential against official results before a mentor appears.
Apply to become a mentorWorth preparing alongside
We cannot line Indian Railways Apprentice (Act) up against other exams yet
This does not mean Indian Railways Apprentice (Act) shares nothing with the exams you are preparing for — only that we have not loaded a chapter-by-chapter syllabus we can compare against, so we will not guess. We compare 0 exams whose official syllabus we have traced to the conducting body, and this one is not among them yet.
Plan with confidence
Complete exam guide
Eligibility, pattern, syllabus, dates and official resources in one structured view.
EligibilityPending verification
Exam patternPending verification
Qualification pathway
Clear each applicable stage in order
Final selection or admission still depends on the published cutoff or merit list and any applicable counselling, document, medical, preference and vacancy rules.
Selection sequence
- 1
Merit list on academic marks
Required - 2
Document Verification (DV)
RequiredOriginals of every uploaded document must be produced. Certificates in languages other than English or Hindi must be accompanied by an attested translation in English or Hindi. Candidature is cancelled if the required original testimonials are not produced.
- 3
Medical fitness certificate
RequiredThe medical certificate must be in the prescribed annexure form and signed by a Government-authorised Gazetted doctor of the prescribed rank.
Paper and stage details
What each stage contains
Merit list on academic marks
No examination — computed from the marks declared in the online applicationQuestions
Not stated
Maximum marks
Not stated
Duration
Not stated
Document Verification (DV)
In person, conducted by the respective Division / Workshop / UnitQuestions
Not stated
Maximum marks
Not stated
Duration
Not stated
Medical fitness certificate
Certificate produced at the time of document verificationQuestions
Not stated
Maximum marks
Not stated
Duration
Not stated
SyllabusPending verification
Important datesPending verification
2026 cycle
Latest confirmed cycle has concluded
Application Closes: 2026-08-19
Next examination date has not yet been published in StudyBddy's verified official record. The date above is historical—not an upcoming deadline.
Full published timeline4 completed · 0 awaiting dates⌄
Application Closes
Completed2026-08-19
Application Opens
Completed2026-07-20
Publication Date
Completed2026-07-16
Notification Date
Completed2026-07-14
Job profile & salaryPending verification
| Post | Engagement Type | Stipend Minimum INR | Stipend Note | Accommodation | Employment Rights |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Act Apprentice (trainee under the Apprentices Act 1961) | Training engagement, not employment. Selected candidates enter into a Contract of Apprenticeship Training before commencement of apprenticeship in the designated trade. | 9600 | The notification states the current minimum stipend for NTC/STC holders is Rs. 9,600 per month with effect from 11.09.2025, in terms of para 10 of G.S.R. 610(E) dated 03.09.2025 issued by the Ministry of Skill Development and Entrepreneurship under Section 37 of the Apprentices Act 1961, circulated vide RBE No. 116/2025. Where one or two years' exemption is admissible under the apprenticeship curriculum, the stipend is Rs. 10,560 (2nd year, 10% increase) and Rs. 11,040 (3rd year, 15% increase). Rates are subject to revision. | No hostel accommodation is provided to apprentices during training; they must make their own arrangements. On completion of training the apprentices are released. | Imparting of training in railway establishments under the Apprentices Act 1961 does not by itself confer any right to appointment in railway services. The Contract of Apprenticeship stands terminated on completion of training. |
CutoffsNot loaded
Previous-year papersPending verification
Books & study sourcesNot loaded
Official & trusted free resourcesPending verification
| Title | Url | Publisher |
|---|---|---|
| NFR Centralized Notification for Engagement of Act Apprentices, 2025-2026 & 2026-2027 (No. NFR/NAPS/ACT APP./2026) | Open ↗ | Northeast Frontier Railway, Personnel Department |
| Northeast Frontier Railway official website (General Info > Departments > Personnel > Act Apprentice Notification) | Open ↗ | Northeast Frontier Railway |
| Railway Recruitment Cell, South Eastern Railway — notices, including Act Apprenticeship shortlisting | Open ↗ | Railway Recruitment Cell, South Eastern Railway |
| Railway Recruitment Cell, Northern Railway | Open ↗ | Railway Recruitment Cell, Northern Railway |
How to applyPending verification
- 1Open the zonal railway's own website — for the NFR cycle, www.nfr.indianrailways.gov.in, then General Info > Departments > Personnel > Act Apprentice Notification — and follow the instructions for filling the ONLINE application.
- 2Register first, then log in. Only one application per candidate is allowed; more than one summarily disqualifies you.
- 3Read the training slots against your ITI trade carefully and enter the Units of your choice in clear order of preference — the preference order, not a test score, decides which Unit-Department-Trade you are considered for.
- 4Upload the colour photograph (clear front view, no cap or sunglasses) and the signature to the specifications on the website, and keep two extra copies of the same photograph for document verification.
- 5Upload the mandatory documents: Class X mark sheet and pass certificate, ITI consolidated semester mark sheet or provisional NTC with marks, the NCVT/SCVT trade certificate, and the category, EWS, disability, ex-serviceman or EBC certificates that apply.
- 6Pay the non-refundable application fee online through the payment gateway linked in the notification, unless exempt. If payment succeeds but the form does not download, use the 'Verify Payment' button to reconfirm.
- 7Preserve the Registration Number issued during submission and do not change the registered mobile number or email during the selection process.
- 8Take a printout of the submitted application. If found eligible, you will be called for Document Verification; a correction after submission costs Rs. 50 each time and registration details cannot be changed.
FAQsPending verification
Is there a written exam for Railway Act Apprentice?
No. The notification says candidates are shortlisted strictly on academic merit and the order of Unit-Department-Trade preference given in the application, followed by document verification. The merit list is built from Matriculation percentage (minimum 50% aggregate) and ITI marks in the trade applied for, and the final panel is the average of the Matriculation and ITI marks. There is no test and no interview.
Who conducts it — RRB or RRC?
The Railway Recruitment Cell / Personnel Department of each zonal railway, not the Railway Recruitment Boards. Each zone publishes its own centralized Act Apprentice notification with its own slots, trades, dates and fee, and applications go on that zone's own website.
What are the age and qualification limits?
Not below 15 and not above 24 years as on the closing date of the notification, with 5 years' relaxation for SC/ST, 3 for OBC and 10 for PwBD. You need Matriculation with at least 50% aggregate (not required for SC/ST/PwBD) plus an NCVT/SCVT National Trade Certificate in the notified trade, held on the date of the notification. Medical Laboratory Technician trades instead require Class 12 with Physics, Chemistry and Biology and 50% in both Class 10 and Class 12.
Does completing the apprenticeship get me a railway job?
Not automatically. The notification is explicit that training under the Apprentices Act 1961 confers no right to appointment and the contract ends when training ends. What it does give is preference: 20% of notified Level-1 (erstwhile Group D) vacancies go to Course Completed Act Apprentices with an NCVT National Apprenticeship Certificate, provided they clear the minimum qualifying marks in the written examination for those posts.
What is the stipend?
The NFR 2026 notification states the current minimum stipend for NTC/STC holders is Rs. 9,600 per month with effect from 11.09.2025, rising to Rs. 10,560 and Rs. 11,040 where one or two years' curriculum exemption is admissible. No hostel accommodation is provided.
Can I apply to more than one zone or more than one trade?
Only one application is allowed against a given notification, and a second one disqualifies you. Within that one application you rank Unit-Department-Trade preferences; once you are selected against a higher preference, every lower preference is cancelled.
Final eligibility and dates are always subject to the latest official notification. Content marked “Pending verification” is not presented as verified advice.