StudyBddy

Live data is briefly unavailable — this page shows the latest published copy of this exam's details.

Police & Security
StateGovt2026 cycle

Odisha Police Constable

State Selection Board, Odisha

Official website Sign in with your email to track exams
Domain
Police & Security
Level
State
Type
Govt
Application closes
To be announced

Eligibility for your profile

Sign in required

Sign in to check your eligibility for Odisha Police Constable

Use your private student profile for a personal verdict and the exact reasons behind it.

This is a preliminary profile match. Confirm every rule in the latest official notification before applying.

Exam snapshot

Overview

Conducting body

State Selection Board, Odisha

What you get

Constable, Jail Warder

Latest content cycle

2026

Cracked Odisha Police Constable? Mentor the next batch.

Apply with the exam you cleared — our team verifies every credential against official results before a mentor appears.

Apply to become a mentor

Worth preparing alongside

We cannot line Odisha Police Constable up against other exams yet

This does not mean Odisha Police Constable shares nothing with the exams you are preparing for — only that we have not loaded a chapter-by-chapter syllabus we can compare against, so we will not guess. We compare 0 exams whose official syllabus we have traced to the conducting body, and this one is not among them yet.

Plan with confidence

Complete exam guide

Eligibility, pattern, syllabus, dates and official resources in one structured view.

Eligibility
Exam pattern

Qualification pathway

Clear each applicable stage in order

Final selection or admission still depends on the published cutoff or merit list and any applicable counselling, document, medical, preference and vacancy rules.

Selection sequence

  1. 1

    Computer Based Recruitment Examination (CBRE)

    Required
  2. 2

    Physical Measurement Test and Physical Efficiency Test

    Required
  3. 3

    Driving Test (optional) and Medical Examination

    Required

Paper and stage details

What each stage contains

3 records

Computer Based Recruitment Examination (CBRE)

Questions

Not stated

Maximum marks

Not stated

Duration

Not stated

Physical Measurement Test and Physical Efficiency Test

Questions

Not stated

Maximum marks

Not stated

Duration

Not stated

Driving Test (optional) and Medical Examination

Questions

Not stated

Maximum marks

Not stated

Duration

Not stated

Syllabus

Showing all 0 topics, across all 7 subjects and 0 chapters.

Odia language0 chapters · 0 trackable topics

Topics pending official syllabus normalization.

English Language0 chapters · 0 trackable topics

Topics pending official syllabus normalization.

Arithmetic0 chapters · 0 trackable topics

Topics pending official syllabus normalization.

General Knowledge0 chapters · 0 trackable topics

Topics pending official syllabus normalization.

Situational Awareness0 chapters · 0 trackable topics

Topics pending official syllabus normalization.

Logical Reasoning0 chapters · 0 trackable topics

Topics pending official syllabus normalization.

Basic Computer Knowledge0 chapters · 0 trackable topics

Topics pending official syllabus normalization.

Important dates

2026 cycle

Latest confirmed cycle has concluded

Editing Correction Window Closed: 2024-10-18

Concluded

Next examination date has not yet been published in StudyBddy's verified official record. The date above is historical—not an upcoming deadline.

Full published timeline5 completed · 0 awaiting dates

Editing Correction Window Closed

Completed

2024-10-18

Editing Correction Window Opened

Completed

2024-10-16

Online Registration Closed

Completed

2024-10-13

Online Registration Opened

Completed

2024-09-23

Detailed Advertisement Date

Completed

2024-09-22

Job profile & salary

Vacancy Caveat

The advertisements state that the number of vacant posts is subject to change at any time at the discretion of the Government, which will be duly notified on the website.

PostRecruiterVacancies AdvertisedPay ScaleProbationPosting Note
Sepoy / Constable in OSAP, IR, SIR and Special Security Battalions of Odisha PoliceState Selection Board, Odisha Police, Cuttack, through Battalion Level Selection Boards1360Level-05 of the Pay Matrix under ORSP Rules, 2017, in the scale of pay Rs. 21,700 - Rs. 69,100Two yearsVacancies are advertised battalion by battalion and the select list is drawn category-wise for each battalion separately.
Cutoffs
Official cutoff records have not been loaded yet.
Previous-year papers
Neither the Odisha Police Recruitment Board nor the State Selection Board publishes a past-question-paper archive on the pages reached for this record. What is published instead is the answered OMR sheet and the tentative answer key after each written examination, uploaded on the Odisha Police website, against which candidates may file representations. No question paper archive was located.
Books & study sources
Book recommendations have not been reviewed yet.
Official & trusted free resources
TitleUrlPublisher
OPRB Corrigendum Advertisement for CPSE-2024 No. 05/OPRB — fresh applications with 3 years age relaxationOpen ↗Odisha Police Recruitment Board, Bhubaneswar
State Selection Board Advertisement No. 02/SSB — Sepoys / Constables in OSAP / IR / SIR / SS BattalionsOpen ↗State Selection Board, Odisha Police, Cuttack
Odisha Police recruitment list — every advertisement, notice and resultOpen ↗Odisha Police, Government of Odisha
Odisha Police recruitment landing pageOpen ↗Odisha Police, Government of Odisha
How to apply
Open official application page
  1. 1Watch the Odisha Police recruitment list for the advertisement you want — an OPRB advertisement for Sub-Inspector and equivalent ranks, or an SSB advertisement for Sepoy / Constable in the battalions.
  2. 2Apply in online mode only, through the link given on the Odisha Police website. No physical or hard copy of the online application form needs to be submitted.
  3. 3Keep a valid e-mail address and mobile number active until the recruitment process ends, because the Board sends important messages there.
  4. 4Pay nothing — the examination fee has been exempted for all categories of candidates as per G.A. & P.G. Department Notification No. 9897/Gen.
  5. 5Use the editing or correction window where the advertisement provides one; the Sepoy / Constable advertisement opened one a few days after the application window closed.
  6. 6Download the admit card from the website when intimated by SMS and e-mail. No printed admit card is dispatched by post at any stage.
  7. 7Carry the hard copy of the admit card and the original photo identity card named in the application form to the allotted examination centre.
  8. 8Expect a separate admit card for the Physical Measurement and Physical Efficiency Test, carrying the date, time and venue for that stage.
  9. 9Note that admission to the written examination and the later tests is provisional and based on the information furnished in the online application form; the candidature is cancelled if any information is later found incomplete, incorrect, misleading or suppressed.
FAQs
Who conducts the Odisha Police SI and Constable recruitments?

They are run by two different boards. The Odisha Police Recruitment Board (OPRB), Bhubaneswar, runs the Combined Police Service Examination (CPSE) for Sub Inspector of Police, Sub Inspector of Police (Armed), Station Officer (Fire Service) and Assistant Jailor. The State Selection Board (SSB), Odisha Police, Cuttack, runs the recruitment of Sepoys / Constables in the OSAP, IR, SIR and Special Security battalions, through Battalion Level Selection Boards.

What qualification do I need?

For Sub Inspector of Police, Sub Inspector of Police (Armed) and Assistant Jailor, a Bachelor's degree in any discipline from a recognised University. For Station Officer (Fire Service), a Science or Engineering graduate from a Government recognised University or Institution. For Sepoy / Constable, the High School Certificate Examination — Matriculation or 10th Class pass — from the Board of Secondary Education, Odisha, or an equivalent.

Do I have to know Odia?

Yes. A Sub-Inspector candidate must be able to speak, read and write Odia, and must have passed the M.E. School or a higher examination with Odia as a subject, or the H.S.C. or an equivalent with Odia as the medium in a non-language subject, or the written test in Odia of M.E. School standard conducted by the Board of Secondary Education, Odisha. The Sepoy / Constable written paper also carries Odia language questions and is set in English and Odia.

Can women apply?

Women and transgender candidates may apply for Sub Inspector of Police and Assistant Jailor, but not for Sub Inspector of Police (Armed) or Station Officer in Fire Service. Persons with Disability are not eligible for any of the CPSE posts. The Sepoy / Constable battalion advertisement prescribes physical standards for men only.

What is the age limit?

For the Sepoy / Constable battalion recruitment, 18 to 23 years as on 01-01-2024, with 5 years' relaxation in the upper limit for SC, ST and SEBC candidates. For CPSE-2024 the advertisement first set 21 to 25 years as on 01-01-2024 with 5 years' relaxation for SC, ST, SEBC and women; a corrigendum then granted 3 years' age relaxation to all categories following orders of the Orissa High Court and the Government of Odisha, so the limits became 21 to 28 years for UR and 21 to 33 years for SEBC, SC, ST and women of all categories, still reckoned on 01.01.2024.

Is there an application fee?

No. Both advertisements state that the examination fee has been exempted for all categories of candidates, as per G.A. & P.G. Department Notification No. 9897/Gen.

How is the written paper marked?

For CPSE the written test is OMR based and objective: Paper-I General English and Odia Language for 100 marks in 90 minutes, Paper-II General Studies for 200 marks in 180 minutes, and Paper-III a Technical Paper for 200 marks in 180 minutes for the Fire Service post only. Each correct answer is 1 mark and 0.25 is deducted for a wrong answer. The Sepoy / Constable paper is a Computer Based Recruitment Examination of 100 marks in 120 minutes with the same 1 mark and 0.25 negative marking, and the qualifying mark is 35 for UR and SEBC and 30 for SC and ST.

Do the physical tests carry marks?

No. In both recruitments the Physical Standard Measurement and the Physical Efficiency Test are purely qualifying and carry no marks, and failing any stage disqualifies the candidate. For CPSE the merit list is the written marks plus NCC weightage of 1 mark for a 'B' certificate and 2 marks for a 'C' certificate. For Sepoy / Constable the select list is the written marks plus the optional driving test — 5 marks for a heavy vehicle licence and 3 for a light vehicle licence — plus 2 bonus marks for an NCC 'A', 'B' or 'C' certificate.

What are the physical standards?

The notification prescribes a minimum height, weight and chest measurement that differ by category and by gender, and requires at least a 5 cm difference between the unexpanded and expanded chest. StudyBddy does not publish the figures themselves. They sit in a table in the official PDF whose cells did not survive text extraction, so no measurement here could be traced back to the document. Read the physical-standards table in the current advertisement before relying on any number, because whether you meet it decides whether you may apply at all.

Where is the current status of these recruitments published?

On the Odisha Police recruitment list, where each notice appears with its letter number, date and subject. As read for this record, the Sepoys / Constables-2024 recruitment has run to its revised final result and joining notices, while the CPSE-2024 written examination for Sub-Inspector stands postponed with admit card downloading on hold, and no rescheduled date appears on that list.

Final eligibility and dates are always subject to the latest official notification. Content marked “Pending verification” is not presented as verified advice.