StudyBddy

Live data is briefly unavailable — this page shows the latest published copy of this exam's details.

Civil Services / Administrative
NationalGovt2026 cycle

UPSC CDS

Union Public Service Commission (UPSC)

Official website Sign in with your email to track exams
Domain
Civil Services / Administrative
Level
National
Type
Govt
Application closes
11 Jun 2026, 6:00 pm IST

Eligibility for your profile

Sign in required

Sign in to check your eligibility for UPSC CDS

Use your private student profile for a personal verdict and the exact reasons behind it.

This is a preliminary profile match. Confirm every rule in the latest official notification before applying.

Exam snapshot

Overview

Conducting body

Union Public Service Commission (UPSC)

What you get

Officers in Indian Army, Navy & Air Force through OTA/IMA/INA/AFA

Latest content cycle

2026

Application window

20 May 2026 → 11 Jun 2026, 6:00 pm IST

Cracked UPSC CDS? Mentor the next batch.

Apply with the exam you cleared — our team verifies every credential against official results before a mentor appears.

Apply to become a mentor

Worth preparing alongside

We cannot line UPSC CDS up against other exams yet

This does not mean UPSC CDS shares nothing with the exams you are preparing for — only that we have not loaded a chapter-by-chapter syllabus we can compare against, so we will not guess. We compare 0 exams whose official syllabus we have traced to the conducting body, and this one is not among them yet.

Plan with confidence

Complete exam guide

Eligibility, pattern, syllabus, dates and official resources in one structured view.

Eligibility

Planning reference — verify the current detailed notice

CDS is not one common eligibility route. Academy choice changes the age window, sex and marital-status rule, degree requirement, written papers, training and commission type.

Entry / academyAgeDate-of-birth windowSex / marital condition
Indian Military Academy19–24 years1 July 2003–1 July 2008Unmarried male candidates
Indian Naval Academy19–24 years1 July 2003–1 July 2008Unmarried male candidates
Air Force Academy20–24 years on 1 July 2027; up to 26 with valid current DGCA Commercial Pilot Licence1 July 2003–1 July 2007; CPL route starts 1 July 2001Below 25 must be unmarried; married candidates aged 25+ face the training restrictions stated in the notice
OTA — SSC Men19–25 years1 July 2002–1 July 2008Unmarried male candidates
OTA — SSC Women Non-Technical19–25 years1 July 2002–1 July 2008Unmarried women, or eligible issueless widows/divorcees who have not remarried

Nationality

citizen of India · subject of Nepal · specified person of Indian origin with a Government of India eligibility certificate where required

Final-year candidates

Yes

Physical standards

Academy- and service-specific physical and medical standards in Appendix III apply; Air Force and Naval Aviation routes also involve pilot-aptitude conditions.

Post / scopeMinimum educationStreams / conditionsFinal year
IMARecognised university degree or equivalentAny recognised degreeAllowed
OTARecognised university degree or equivalentAny recognised degreeAllowed
Indian Naval AcademyEngineering degree or eligible BScDegree in Engineering, BSc with Physics as core/elective plus Physics and Mathematics at 10+2Allowed
Air Force AcademyDegree / Bachelor of EngineeringRecognised degree with Physics and Mathematics at 10+2, Bachelor of EngineeringAllowed
Exam pattern

Qualification pathway

Academy-specific written paper, then common selection stages

Final selection or admission still depends on the published cutoff or merit list and any applicable counselling, document, medical, preference and vacancy rules.

IMA / INA / AFA route

Route
  1. 1

    Written - IMA/INA/AFA

    Choose this route

    Three separate two-hour papers. General Knowledge and Elementary Mathematics are bilingual in Hindi and English.

    Exam Date: 2026-09-13

  2. 2

    Services Selection Board

    Required

    Two-stage psychological aptitude, intelligence and personality assessment. Interview marks equal the written maximum for the academy: 300 for IMA/INA/AFA and 200 for OTA.

  3. 3

    Medical Examination

    Required

OTA route

Route
  1. 1

    Written - OTA

    Choose this route

    OTA candidates take English and General Knowledge only; Elementary Mathematics is not part of the OTA written examination.

    Exam Date: 2026-09-13

  2. 2

    Services Selection Board

    Required

    Two-stage psychological aptitude, intelligence and personality assessment. Interview marks equal the written maximum for the academy: 300 for IMA/INA/AFA and 200 for OTA.

  3. 3

    Medical Examination

    Required

Paper and stage details

What each stage contains

4 records

Written - IMA/INA/AFA

objective written

Questions

Not stated

Maximum marks

300

Duration

360 min

Subject distribution

  • English — 2 hours · 100 marks
  • General Knowledge — 2 hours · 100 marks
  • Elementary Mathematics — 2 hours · 100 marks

Marking rule

Objective papers with negative marking: one-third of the marks assigned to a question is deducted for a wrong or multiple-marked answer; no penalty for an unattempted question.

Three separate two-hour papers. General Knowledge and Elementary Mathematics are bilingual in Hindi and English.

Written - OTA

objective written

Questions

Not stated

Maximum marks

200

Duration

240 min

Subject distribution

  • English — 2 hours · 100 marks
  • General Knowledge — 2 hours · 100 marks

Marking rule

Objective papers with negative marking: one-third of the marks assigned to a question is deducted for a wrong or multiple-marked answer; no penalty for an unattempted question.

OTA candidates take English and General Knowledge only; Elementary Mathematics is not part of the OTA written examination.

Services Selection Board

assessment and interview

Questions

Not stated

Maximum marks

Not stated

Duration

Not stated

Two-stage psychological aptitude, intelligence and personality assessment. Interview marks equal the written maximum for the academy: 300 for IMA/INA/AFA and 200 for OTA.

Medical Examination

medical

Questions

Not stated

Maximum marks

Not stated

Duration

Not stated

Syllabus

Showing all 92 topics, across all 5 subjects and 16 chapters.

English2 chapters · 13 trackable topics
  • Grammar and Usage

    7 topics

    • Parts of speech
    • Tenses
    • Subject-verb agreement
    • Articles and prepositions
    • Error detection
    • Sentence improvement
    • Ordering of words
  • Vocabulary and Comprehension

    6 topics

    • Synonyms and antonyms
    • Idioms and phrases
    • One-word substitution
    • Cloze test
    • Reading comprehension
    • Ordering of sentences
General Knowledge5 chapters · 25 trackable topics
  • Current Events

    6 topics

    • National affairs
    • International affairs
    • Defence
    • Economy
    • Science and technology
    • Sports and awards
  • History and Culture

    5 topics

    • Ancient India
    • Medieval India
    • Modern India
    • Freedom movement
    • Art and culture
  • Geography

    4 topics

    • Physical geography
    • Indian geography
    • World geography
    • Environment and ecology
  • Polity and Economy

    5 topics

    • Constitution
    • Governance
    • Rights and institutions
    • Indian economy
    • Government programmes
  • General Science

    5 topics

    • Physics
    • Chemistry
    • Biology
    • Health and environment
    • Everyday science
Elementary Mathematics6 chapters · 35 trackable topics
  • Arithmetic

    10 topics

    • Number system
    • Fundamental operations
    • Unitary method
    • Time and distance
    • Time and work
    • Percentage
    • Interest
    • Profit and loss
    • Ratio and proportion
    • Variation
  • Algebra

    6 topics

    • Basic operations
    • Linear equations
    • Quadratic equations
    • Set language
    • Rational expressions
    • Laws of indices
  • Trigonometry

    4 topics

    • Sine, cosine and tangent
    • Standard values
    • Identities
    • Height and distance
  • Geometry

    6 topics

    • Lines and angles
    • Triangles
    • Congruency and similarity
    • Circles
    • Loci
    • Quadrilaterals
  • Mensuration

    4 topics

    • Plane figures
    • Surface area
    • Volume
    • Geometrical solids
  • Statistics

    5 topics

    • Data collection
    • Frequency polygons
    • Histograms
    • Bar and pie charts
    • Measures of central tendency
SSB Preparation2 chapters · 13 trackable topics
  • Screening and Psychology

    6 topics

    • OIR
    • Picture perception and discussion
    • TAT
    • WAT
    • SRT
    • Self-description
  • GTO and Interview

    7 topics

    • Group discussion
    • Planning exercise
    • Outdoor group tasks
    • Lecturette
    • Command task
    • Personal interview
    • Conference
Physical and Medical Readiness1 chapters · 6 trackable topics
  • Readiness

    6 topics

    • Running and stamina
    • Strength and mobility
    • Body composition
    • Vision and hearing awareness
    • Documentation
    • Injury prevention
Important dates

2026 cycle

Next confirmed event

Exam Date: 2026-09-13

Upcoming

UPSC's current notification archive records 11 June 2026 at 18:00 as the closing date; use the live archive for any post-notification deadline revision.

What happens next

Confirmed upcoming schedule

As published by the authority

Exam Date

Upcoming

2026-09-13

Full published timeline2 completed · 0 awaiting dates

Application Window

Completed

2026-05-20 → 2026-06-11T18:00:00+05:30

Notification Date

Completed

2026-05-20

Job profile & salary

Total Vacancies

451

Training Stipend Reference

₹56,100 per month is the published fixed stipend for the specified cadet or flight-cadet training period; academy-specific terms in the notice control

AcademyVacanciesCourseTrainingCommissionWritten Plus SSB
Indian Military Academy, Dehradun100163rd DE Course, July 2027About 18 monthsPermanent Commission as Lieutenant after successful training300 + 300 marks
Indian Naval Academy, Ezhimala26July 2027 courseAs prescribed by the Indian Naval AcademyNaval officer after successful academy and commissioning requirements300 + 300 marks
Air Force Academy, Hyderabad32222 F(P), July 2027Pre-flying and branch training as prescribed by the IAFFlying Officer after successful training, subject to flying aptitude and medical rules300 + 300 marks
Officers Training Academy — SSC Men275126th SSC (Men) NT, October 2027About 49 weeksShort Service Commission as Lieutenant after successful training200 + 200 marks
Officers Training Academy — SSC Women18126th SSC Women NT, October 2027About 49 weeksShort Service Commission as Lieutenant after successful training200 + 200 marks
Cutoffs

UPSC publishes academy-wise historical cutoffs. No predicted CDS II 2026 cutoff is presented as official.

Previous-year papers
Books & study sources
Book recommendations have not been reviewed yet.
Official & trusted free resources
NamePurposeUrl
CDS II 2026 notificationControlling source for academy eligibility, vacancies, pattern, syllabus, medical rules and trainingOpen ↗
UPSC previous papersOfficial English, General Knowledge and Elementary Mathematics paper archiveOpen ↗
UPSC answer keysOfficial final answer-key archiveOpen ↗
UPSC cutoff marksOfficial academy-wise historical cutoff archiveOpen ↗
UPSC application portalOfficial URN, Common Application Form and examination moduleOpen ↗
Join Indian ArmyRequired registration and SSB call-up information for Army-first qualified candidatesOpen ↗
How to apply
Open official application page
  1. 1Choose the academy route first, then verify its exact birth window, sex and marital-status rule, degree requirement and medical standard in the CDS II 2026 notice.
  2. 2Create or unlock the UPSC Universal Registration Number profile and complete the Common Application Form on the official portal.
  3. 3Upload date-of-birth, education, live-photo, photograph and three-signature materials exactly as instructed.
  4. 4Enter academy preferences carefully. IMA, INA, AFA and OTA eligibility and written-paper requirements are not interchangeable.
  5. 5Choose an available examination centre early; most centres have capacity limits.
  6. 6Pay ₹200 unless covered by the female-candidate, SC or ST exemption stated in the notice.
  7. 7Save the final application and status. UPSC's current archive records the CDS II 2026 application deadline as 11 June 2026 at 18:00, so this cycle is closed.
FAQs
When is CDS II 2026?

UPSC schedules the one-day written examination for 13 September 2026. The notice lists July 2027 courses for IMA, INA and AFA and October 2027 courses for OTA.

Does every CDS candidate take Mathematics?

No. IMA, INA and AFA candidates take English, General Knowledge and Elementary Mathematics. OTA candidates take English and General Knowledge only.

Can final-year degree students apply?

Yes, but only candidates studying in the final year or semester may use this concession. They must carry the prescribed bonafide and original documents for SSB and submit passing proof by the academy-specific deadline.

Can women apply for every academy through CDS II 2026?

The notified women’s route is the OTA SSC Women Non-Technical course. IMA, INA and the listed Air Force Academy route in this notice have their own sex and marital-status conditions.

How many vacancies are notified?

The notice lists 451 approximate vacancies: IMA 100, INA 26, AFA 32, OTA SSC Men 275 and OTA SSC Women 18.

Does passing the written examination guarantee an academy seat?

No. Final selection depends on the combined written and SSB merit, medical fitness, academy eligibility, submitted preferences and available vacancies.

Final eligibility and dates are always subject to the latest official notification. Content marked “Pending verification” is not presented as verified advice.